Storage : Volumes : Configuring volumes : Deleting Snapshot copies
Deleting Snapshot copies
You can delete a Snapshot copy to conserve space or free disk space, or you can delete the Snapshot copy if it is no longer required. If you want to delete a Snapshot copy that is busy or locked, then you have to release the Snapshot copy from the application that is using it.
About this task
•
You cannot delete the base Snapshot copy in a parent volume if a FlexClone volume is using that Snapshot copy.
The base Snapshot copy is the Snapshot copy that is used to create the FlexClone volume, and always displays the status
"
busy
" and application dependency as "
busy,vclone
" in the parent volume.
•
You cannot delete a Snapshot copy that is used by a SnapMirror relationship .
The Snapshot copy is required for the next update.
For more information about deleting busy Snapshot copies, see the
Data ONTAP Data Protection Online Backup and Recovery Guide for 7-Mode
for your version of Data ONTAP.
Steps
1.
From the home page, double-click the appropriate storage system.
2.
In the navigation pane,
click
Storage
>
Volumes
.
3.
Select the appropriate volume that contains the Snapshot copy you want to delete.
4.
Click
Snapshot Copies
in the lower pane of the
Volumes
window
.
5.
In the lower window pane, select the Snapshot copy that you want to delete.
6.
Click
Delete
.
7.
Select the confirmation check box and click
Delete
.
Related reference
Volumes window
Was this topic helpful? Send
comments
to NetApp.